Tar Heel Times
Your comprehensive source for Tar Heel sports news

UNC Lacrosse

Complete coverage of North Carolina Lacrosse.

No. 2 UNC Women's Lacrosse Cruises Past Elon, 15-5

The second-ranked North Carolina women’s lacrosse team scored three times in the first four minutes of play and cruised to a 15-5 win over No. 14 Elon Tuesday at Fetzer Field. The Tar Heels improved to 7-1 with the win. Senior Molly Hendrick had three goals in the first half to lead a balanced attack, with seven Tar Heels tallying one goal each. (GoHeels.com)

Richmond Rallies Past No. 7 UNC Men's Lacrosse, 6-5

The No. 19 Richmond men’s lacrosse team held seventh-ranked North Carolina to a single goal over the last 33 minutes and outscored UNC 3-0 in the fourth quarter in a 6-5 win over the Tar Heels at rain-soaked Navy Field. With the win, the Spiders improved to 6-1 on the season while UNC falls to 4-3 with losses in its last three home games. (GoHeels.com)

Hofstra Upends No. 5 UNC Men's Lacrosse, 11-9

Hofstra ran off four straight goals in the second half to pull away from fifth-ranked North Carolina as the Pride defeated the Tar Heels in men’s lacrosse at Fetzer Field for the second straight season, winning by an 11-9 score before 2,036 fans Saturday. UNC is now 4-2 on the season and will play Richmond (5-1) at home Monday night at Fetzer Field at 7 p.m. (GoHeels.com)

Molly Hendrick Leads No. 2 UNC Women's Lacrosse With Six Goals In Win Over Virginia

The second-ranked UNC women’s lacrosse team opened ACC play Saturday with a 21-11 win over Virginia at Fetzer Field. After the Cavaliers closed within a goal following the an early Carolina lead, UNC opened the second half with an 8-0 run to put the game out of reach. The Tar Heels improved to 6-1 overall and 1-0 in ACC play with the win, while Virginia fell to 2-4 (0-2 ACC). (GoHeels.com)

No. 2 UNC Women's Lacrosse Downs Canisius For Jenny Levy's 300th Win

Molly Hendrick tied her career highs with six goals and seven points as second-ranked North Carolina beat Canisius, 16-8, on Sunday. The win is number 300 in the career of Tar Heel head coach Jenny Levy, who becomes the third coach in NCAA Division I history to win 300 games. Navy's Cindy Timchal has 477 wins and Princeton's Chris Sailer has 375. (GoHeels.com)

No 6. UNC Men's Lacrosse Shocks Top-Ranked Denver 13-9

Luke Goldstock scored four goals and had one assist and Brian Balkam made 17 saves, a career high, while allowing just nine goals, as #6 North Carolina whipped #1 Denver 13-9 Saturday at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium. Carolina improves to 4-1 on the season with a great bounceback win after losing at home to Johns Hopkins last Saturday. (GoHeels.com)

No. 2 UNC Women's Lacrosse Runs Past Albany, 14-5

Second-ranked North Carolina went on a 12-0 run starting late in the first half and defeated Albany, 14-5, on Friday afternoon at the US Lacrosse Complex. Senior Carly Reed led the Tar Heel scoring attack with four goals, while Maggie Bill and Sydney Holman each added a goal and three assists. Carolina improved to 4-1 this season. Albany fell to 2-3. (GoHeels.com)

No. 1-Ranked Denver Awaits UNC Men's Lacrosse

The UNC men’s lacrosse team returns to action on Saturday at 1:30 p.m. EST (11:30 a.m. MST) against the No. 1-ranked Denver Pioneers in the Tar Heels’ second road game of the season at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium in Denver, Colo. The Tar Heels won their 2017 road opener on Saturday, February 11 by defeating Furman 7-3 in Greenville, S.C. (GoHeels.com)

UNC men's lacrosse not discouraged by blowout loss to Johns Hopkins

Despite being dominated by Johns Hopkins all day, the North Carolina men’s lacrosse team still had a chance to turn things around. Facing the No. 4 Blue Jays (4-0), the No. 3 Tar Heels (3-1) had been mostly shut down through 35 minutes of play. With just over 10 minutes remaining in the third period, the Tar Heels had failed to find any sort of groove. (Daily Tar Heel)

Logan’s Goalie Play Leads Blue Jays Past Tar Heels

The third-ranked UNC men’s lacrosse team saw its seven-game winning streak dating back to last year ended as fifth-ranked Johns Hopkins powered past the Tar Heels 13-5 in front of 3,128 fans at Fetzer Field Saturday afternoon. Gerald Logan had a season high 16 saves for the Blue Jays and John Crawley led the Blue Jays with a four-goal performance. (GoHeels.com)

No. 3 UNC Men's Lacrosse Hosts No. 4 Johns Hopkins Saturday

The University of North Carolina men’s lacrosse team, under the direction of ninth-year head coach Joe Breschi, returns to action on Saturday at 1 p.m. ET against the Johns Hopkins Blue Jays in the Tar Heels’ second home game of the season at Fetzer Field. The Tar Heels won their 2017 home opener last Saturday by defeating Lehigh 15-8 at Fetzer Field. (GoHeels.com)

The ice cream-eating, nap-hating, run-on-sentence speaking player who could rule NCAA lacrosse

When UNC lacrosse player Marie McCool was a little girl, she didn't just ask her parents for a dog. She created a PowerPoint to highlight the benefits of a Yorkie. Shooting hoops in the driveway, she wouldn't go inside until she drained 10 in a row. "If I made nine, I'd go back to one and start again," says McCool. Now imagine bringing that kind of tenacity to lacrosse. (ESPN.com)

UNC Women's Lacrosse Visits Terps In No. 1 vs. No. 2 Matchup

North Carolina (3-0), the 2016 NCAA champion and the nation’s top-ranked team thus far in 2017, will visit second-ranked Maryland (2-0) on Saturday at 3 p.m. in College Park, Md. The game will be played at Capital One Field at Maryland Stadium, the Terrapins' football stadium, in a doubleheader with their men’s team (which will host Yale at noon). (GoHeels.com)

Caylee Waters' fire fuels UNC women's lacrosse before Maryland matchup

Ask goalkeeper Caylee Waters what she thinks about the women's lacrosse rivalry between UNC and Maryland, and she’ll say, “It’s funny that you mention it...” The No. 1 Tar Heels travel to take on the No. 2 Terrapins Saturday at 3 p.m. in a clash of powerhouses. But Caylee's history with UNC's opponent goes past the national championship game the past two seasons. (Daily Tar Heel)

Black History Month Honoree: Ousmane Power-Greene

Ousmane Power-Greene came to UNC from one of the most storied programs in lacrosse, Yorktown (N.Y.) High School. That program has produced seven state championships and countless collegiate athletes. But his path to Carolina wasn't direct. A three-sport athlete in high school, Power-Greene wasn't sure whether he wanted to pursue football, basketball or lacrosse. (GoHeels.com)

< BackNext >

© 2005-2017 Tar Heel Times | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map | RSS | Did UNC Win?

Tar Heel Times is an unofficial resource for UNC fans and is not affiliated with the University of North Carolina.