Menu

Businesses ebb and flow on Franklin Street


Franklin Street has existed since the University first opened and has expanded from just a few houses, stores and a post office in the 1790s to a 3-mile-long stretch filled with restaurants, businesses and office spaces. Named after Benjamin Franklin, the iconic Chapel Hill street had no brick buildings until 1916 and was not paved until the 1920s. (Daily Tar Heel)

Share: Facebook | Twitter | Email

Related:

Recent Campus Connections News:

180+ still at shelter on UNC campus as Florence flooding continues

Wilmington and New Bern student families struggle after Florence

Ackland Art Museum launches 60th anniversary celebration

How Carolina is transforming medicine with artificial intelligence

For 30 years, Stone Center has been bringing people together


© 2005-2018 Tar Heel Times | Contact | Privacy Policy | Site Map | RSS | Did UNC Win?

Tar Heel Times is an unofficial resource for UNC fans and is not affiliated with the University of North Carolina.